General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

buying new

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2009, 11:30 AM
dreamer65
Road Warrior
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default buying new

hey guys a newbie here havn't rode in 25 yrs but have been drooling over bike since i can remember.
anyway i when to the local HD dealer here in raleigh,nc.
seems like a cool place very friendly shome everything about the place and i told the sales guy i was just looking around and wanted to see what bikes are going for so on and so forth
he gave me a brouche and i left came back about a week later and we chatted again I asked for some numbers on a fxdc with optional paint. i told him i need to know waht i looking at so i can work this out
here iswhat he wrote down
msrp: $13654( what HD what website say)
friegth&setup: $925. (other bike) in showroom say setup 300.00)
tax: $441.
plus: $281.(no idea what this is)
tags: $65.
what do u think? I wondering if he was just trying to screw me because i stilljust looking? we sat down with the finance guy and he worked out a monthly, 250ish lol

Old 02-23-2009, 11:36 AM
Tbyrd
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i am assuming your talking about Ray Price, I was down there this past summer. One thing I noticed was every bike there had an "out the door" price on it, which is nice to know when looking. I noticed that, although they claim to be an MSRP dealer, several bikes had little additions like your Dyna there. When I questioned the saleswoman, who was very nice, she stated that they install accessories on a lot of their bikes so that was the difference from MSRP. She referred to it as a "dealer custom." I found it odd, but at least they were honest about it.

EDIT. In any event, in today's economy I would not pay freight or setup especially if I was paying MSRP

Last edited by Tbyrd; 02-23-2009 at 11:37 AM. Reason: more info
Old 02-23-2009, 11:42 AM
dreamer65
Road Warrior