General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Your thoughts on MSRP

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2009, 07:36 PM
RustyRay
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Your thoughts on MSRP

(hopefully my first post will be a good one)

I’ve been riding American since 1984. I bought a Shovel basket-case that I wound up riding for nearly 20 years. Then (with more dollars in my pocket than sense in my head), I took possession of nearly 30 grand worth of junk (read: American Iron Horse). I’m sure a lot of you have had great experiences with one-offs and special construction bikes and I’m not looking to badmouth either. Me, I wound up unloading the AI for pennies on the dollar and I’m eyeballing an 09 Road King. And here’s my problem…
I haven’t been an HD dealership in years, so I’m wondering if you’re dealing with cash, is there any room to negotiate these days? Way back when, you paid MSRP for the bike and were lucky if the dealer hadn’t piled on $1000s worth of “genuine” accessories (at 300% profit)

So what gives, can I walk in and offer 10% under msrp? 20%? Or are they goin to laugh me outta the dealership?s

Old 01-30-2009, 07:40 PM
trip20
Elite HDF Member
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

You can offer whatever you want. Doesn't mean they'll accept your offer. Dealer prices differ all over the country. Some are above MSRP, some at MSRP, and some below. You won't find your answer on the internet unless you find folks that have dealt with the exact dealer you plan on visiting. The only way to know is to go down there, pull up your sleeves, and start throwin' punches. Good luck!

Old 01-30-2009, 07:41 PM
RustyRay
Stage IV

Good call.....THNX

Old 01-30-2009, 07:42 PM
jd8181
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

https://www.hdforums.com/forum/gener...ash-price.html