General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Difference between Baffled and Non-Baffled exhaust?

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2009, 10:02 AM
Bumbobee
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Difference between Baffled and Non-Baffled exhaust?

I'm curious to know what the difference is between the two and what the pros/cons are for each?

<- Noob here

Old 01-16-2009, 10:11 AM
sonar_chris
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Un Baffled pipes, or drag pipes will give you better top end power due to the unrestrictive nature of free flowing pipes. This is great if your going flat out at top speed or your racing. It sucks for low end torque however, and this is what most HD riders like. Baffled pipes are quieter (depending on the baffle) and provide more back pressure, creating more low end torque, but limiting top end horse power. Sound is the reason most people go with either baffled or un-baffled pipes.

Old 01-16-2009, 10:29 AM
tmitchellof PG
Elite HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

I just took off unbaffled Samson II, Rip Saws, which are drag pipes of 1-5/8" ID. The previous owner had them installed with torque cones placed at the head end.
My bike with the 103" engine ran great with that setup, but the noise was outrageous. It took me over 2 years to convince myself to switch to a Fat Cat 2 into 1, with quiet baffle. There should have been a huge difference in the low to mid range power, according to what I have read. I really can't tell much difference at all, except for 5,000 rpm and above. The drag pipes performed better at the higher rpms.

If you take the baffle out of most exhausts, that are meant to use a baffle, the performance will suffer greatly. Most exhaust have too large an ID, which they need for the baffles, to run them without the baffles
Tom.

Old 01-16-2009, 10:30 AM
AK47
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts