General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Impressions

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2006, 11:29 AM
fatboy4ever
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Impressions

I have been riding bikes for over 15 years. I started late in life around 30. What I am constantly amazed at, is that everytime I tell a person that "I ride", they are so quick to tell me about a story about someone that they knew who was either killed or injured riding a motorcycle. Of course this person was a "friend of a friend" or a far removed relative. I am not quite sure why people do this, but it is starting to wear on me and my family! Of course their follow-up question is, "Do I wear a helmet?" . . . Any good suggestions on how to handle this? Of course, everytime my wife, or children hear the response from one of these people, they all get concerned.

Thanks

Scott

Old 03-27-2006, 11:36 AM
zzrider
Cruiser
Default RE: First Impressions

When they do that then ask them to tell you all the people they know who have been killed or injured in an automobile accident.

People are scared of the unknowen....and for some reason they are thrilled and at the same time scared of bikes.....

Old 03-27-2006, 11:44 AM
g money
Account Retired
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

I hear it all of the time. When someone reads in the paper that 50 people got killed in car wrecks over the weekend they just skip over it. But one person gets killed on a bike and all I hear is "those things are so dangerous" Can't figure it out.

Old 03-27-2006, 11:56 AM
PWHOG
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I received all this rubbish when my wife treated me to a Softail Heritage for my 50th Birthday last year. All of a sudden all of our friends & relatives started going on about why did you let him have it ! they are dangerous! Why dosen't he act his age which really winds me up so I react with :-