General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First cross country trip - weather concerns

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2008, 10:29 PM
Scorpio49
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First cross country trip - weather concerns

I'm retiring in July and planning a solo trip from Atlanta to Jackson, WY(about 2000 miles) to visit my brother. I've never done anything like this before - furthest is a weekend trip with the Mrs.6 hours away. I'll have plenty of time on my hands so I plan on taking a conservative approach 300 - 400 miles per day. Mrs. stays home as she won'tretire until next year(sorry).

I've got the packing, tool kit and trip prep down with all the reading I have done on this forum. I do have a GPS. One concern is what do most of you experienced riders due to anticipate and or avoid bad weather. I do have a laptop I can take - do you look at weather maps in the evening at the motel and recalculate your route, wait out the big storms by extending your stay or suit up and ride it out. I've only been riding about 6 years so I'm not very experienced and frankly the weather worries me at times. I not real keen on riding hours through heavy thunderstorms and I don't want to get holed up in a motel room for an extra couple of days. I'm not looking for the perfect ride, just trying to narrow my opportunities to screw up.

Your advice would be appreciated.

2007 RG

Old 05-25-2008, 10:53 PM
cmcsns
Road Master
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: First cross country trip - weather concerns