General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Installing Rush slip ons

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2008 | 09:55 AM
turczytj
|
Cruiser
Default Installing Rush slip ons

Is there any trick to removing the stock mufflers and replacing them with Rush slip ons or is it as simple as removing the exhaust clamp and replacing the pipes? Is there any sealantor will the pipes just slide off after i remove the clamp on each one (should any sealant be applied to the Rush pipes prior to installation)? Any special tools involved? Anything else I need to know? How long do you think this will take me?

This is my first project on my new Softail Custom and since I am not very mechanically inclined, this seemed like a goodfirst alteration...

thx.

Old 05-14-2008 | 10:11 AM
kingk9
Banned
Default RE: Installing Rush slip ons

ORIGINAL: turczytj

Is there any trick to removing the stock mufflers and replacing them with Rush slip ons or is it as simple as removing the exhaust clamp and replacing the pipes? Is there any sealantor will the pipes just slide off after i remove the clamp on each one (should any sealant be applied to the Rush pipes prior to installation)? Any special tools involved? Anything else I need to know? How long do you think this will take me?

This is my first project on my new Softail Custom and since I am not very mechanically inclined, this seemed like a goodfirst alteration...

thx.
I loosened the clamps, squirted them with JB blaster where they connect,and let it sit for about half an hour. They slid right off. I did apply sealant to my Rush slip ons. Don't know if I really had to, but I read on here it was a good idea, so I did. No leaks. Took me about an hour, but I'm slow. I think you should have a torque wrench, because you gotta get those clamps pretty tight. About 65 Ft. Lbs. if I remember correctly. It's not hard to do it at all.

Old 05-14-2008 | 10:15 AM
porsche911