General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Riding after the roads are salted?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2008, 12:05 PM
yomomma22
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Riding after the roads are salted?

Hey all, I am new to riding about 5-6 months ago. I live in Kansas City, Mo. We have seen some good ice/snow storms come thru and all the roads are salted. I have been riding my sporty when ever the roads are dry. Most of my riding was on main roads and had no problems. I did get on a back road that was covered all but the tire tracks and that was a little nerv racking.

I guess my question is do most of you ride after salt flies? Any pointers would be good also. I plan to ride tonight to work. 40 going in and 27-29 coming home. Just want to make sure I know all I can when dealing with the hassards of winter roads.

Thanks, Kyle

Old 01-04-2008, 12:11 PM
Keystone
Road Warrior
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Riding after the roads are salted?

If you can't wash ALL of the salt off at the end of the day then don't ride is what I go by. That stuff is hard on the bike. The longer it sits the more damage it does.

Old 01-04-2008, 12:17 PM
HD Attitude
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yea. Here's a pointer. HERE'S YOU'RE SIGN !
WARNING ! When ICE is on the road. STAY THE FU*K OFF !

Old 01-04-2008, 12:18 PM
yomomma22
Road Captain

Man she is a higher milage 95 1200 that I bought to ride as much as possible. I have 2 kids 1 and 2 years old and when I can ride that is what I do since I got the bike. I love this thing. But I also want to be as safe as I can be due to those same kids I have to come home and play with. If she rusts out then I will either fix it or get something else. Just looking for some pointers on what to expect. Just been taking it a little slower and figured that is a good start for staying up right.

Old 01-04-2008, 12:18 PM
dv102
Road Captain