General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My possible career advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2007, 05:17 PM
Vinnie85FXWG
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My possible career advice

After I graduate this year, I plan on hopefully going to MMI in Phoenix. What I want to know is, is there any future in becoming a mechanic, is the money decent, and anyone know anything about MMI? I know its a good school to become a certified harley mechanic, but I don't want to do something I will regret down the road. Thanks to all.

Old 12-19-2007, 05:31 PM
fj4069
Road Warrior
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: My possible career advice

Vinnie, i'm not sure what certified harley techs make but i am a bmw technician (cars not bikes) in the bay area, ca and i'm making 33 and hour flat rate. ends up around 90-110 a year depending how busy we are. never thought i could make this kind of money working on cars. get training and get into a high end car/bike line is my advice to you if want to work as a technician.

Old 12-19-2007, 05:52 PM
JohnC88
Tourer

My indie says he's not impressed with MMI (or similar) grads. Says thay could save a bundle of money by coming to work for him and learning things the right way from the ground up while actually making money rather than paying it. Too many MMI grads think they know it all upon graduation and don't necessaily know chit.

I'm guessing he's probably right.

Old 12-19-2007, 05:53 PM
deadman77
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 138 Likes on 89 Posts

ORIGINAL: fj4069

Vinnie, i'm not sure what certified harley techs make but i am a bmw technician (cars not bikes) in the bay area, ca and i'm making 33 and hour flat rate. ends up around 90-110 a year depending how busy we are. never thought i could make this kind of money working on cars. get training and get into a high end car/bike line is my advice to you if want to work as a technician.