General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Got our brand new bike today!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2005, 11:19 PM
Twohulabears
Road Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got our brand new bike today!!!

This morning we went down to Latus Harley Davidson to test ride a couple bikes, because we couldn't make up our mind if we wanted the 06 Street Glide or an 06 Road King Custom. First I rode the Street Glide. Nice looking bike, rode very smooth, and the stereo sounded great (but I quickly turned it off when I started riding). This is a cool bike, but it felt VERY wrong having that fairing in front of me. Then I tested a Road King Custom. Beautiful bike, rode very smooth, and sounded GREAT with the Rineharts. One thing I didn't like about the RK Custom was that I felt like I was on top of the bike, not riding in it. As I was getting done riding the RK Custom, I was wondering which I was going to suggest to my wife we buy. The thing was, they both felt more like I was riding a sled on smooth ice instead of a riding a motorcycle down the road. While I could see that they were very good bikes, niether put a smile on my face. So, when I walked into the dealer, I said "it is up to you, dear! Which ever one you feel more comfortable on is fine with me!" (I had a blast on our last bike an 03 Sportster, but I know it wasn't a very comfy ride for the wife. So, this bike she gets to pick out based on what will make her happy because I knew I would be happy with whatever made her happy.) Then she said, "have you seen this one over here? it looks like the first bike we had (15 years ago an 86 blue Honda Rebel) all grown up! You should take this for a ride!" It was an 06 Wide Glide. I got on it and said, "why not, the test ride is free!" So, I drove it out of the parking lot, out onto the open road, and WOW! This bike felt so right! This bike put a HUGE smile on my face!! I loved e