Notices
General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Highway riding

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2007, 12:57 PM
WVICEMAN
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Highway riding

When I ride on the Interstate I feel comfortable in the right lane only and to the outside. I am new to interstate riding and to be honest I am slow poke on the Interstate around 60 or 65 is this unsafe? Just wondering if I'm the only one out there like this.

Old 08-28-2007, 01:03 PM
rwagon57
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Highway riding

WVIceman,

What you are doing is the best practice for your comfort level. As you gain experience the speed and moving left will come. If you are not comfortable running at the speeds that the majority of traffic is running stay right so they can get around you. Soon you will find that another 10 mph isn't that big of a deal. Just remember to give yourself at least 2 seconds between you and the vehicle ahead and always look farther down the road so you can adjust as you need to.

Old 08-28-2007, 01:07 PM
WVICEMAN
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

One thing I can say is I'm a safe rider. I just want to bring up my confidence level a little at a time but I don't want to make a mistake by being to slow out there and getting my hind end run over.

Old 08-28-2007, 01:21 PM
Urban Coyote
Cruiser

I haven't been out on the highways yet either, but just by what I see while driving my car, depending on the highway itself, the time of dayand the amount of traffic, riding on a highway can be a safer and more comfortable experience than riding in heavy stop and go traffic on a local street.

Old 08-28-2007, 01:22 PM
I SPY
Cruiser