General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A question about shifting from a newbie...

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2007, 07:40 PM
AHVeil
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A question about shifting from a newbie...

While out for a ride this evening--my 3rd ever and 1st since passing the MSF course--I got a little discombobulated with my shifting, forgot what gear I was in, and ended up in way too high a gear (6th) for the speed I was going (35mph...YIKES!!!). Yes, I know, I'm. I was under control, but as you might imagine, my engine made the most horrible (and embarrassing) knocking/clunking sound. Poor bike.

Since my FXDB doesn't have a tach, it's been a tad difficult getting the shifting right. Like I said, I'm brand new at this, so my ears aren't as honed as some of you vets, and it doesn't help much that we never got out of 2nd in the MSF course! Anything over that and I start to lose track of things!!!

More importantly, downshifting has proven especially difficult. Is the proper technique to roll off the throttle to decrease engine speed, while braking, and then downshift all at once (say, from 4th to 1st)?One at a time, perhaps? Any tips from you pros would be much appreciated.

Hopefully this will come with time...though sooner rather than later! Who knows how much damage this incident has done to my bike already...ugh!

Sorry for the long post.

Old 08-13-2007, 07:42 PM
YUCK
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: A question about shifting from a newbie...

Keep jamming,,,you'll figure it out....

Old 08-13-2007, 08:01 PM
Kolni
Banned
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

normal rule of thumb is 10-15 mph for each gear.

ANd don't lug the gears. AFter awhile you will alwasys know what gear yopu are in

Old 08-13-2007, 08:05 PM
HDRoadKing007
Cruiser