General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Steering neck bearing replacement

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2021 | 06:20 PM
Bubba Zanetti
|
Seasoned HDF Member
Default Steering neck bearing replacement

How many have replaced the neck bearings in their bikes? Is it a pain in the butt or pretty easy? Bear in mind I don’t have a garage so all work is done on a jack in my driveway.
Anyway it’s a 2005 Super Glide Custom. Any special tools needed? Anything to look out for or avoid dong? I’m no ace mechanic but I can turn a wrench. I do most all the work on my bikes.

I put this in general chat because it’s the same procedure for all models.

Old 07-02-2021 | 08:59 PM
union53
Road Captain

Its both easy and hard at the same time. With the proper tools its no big deal. I haven't done the ones on my Harley so I can't say for certain how they are done but in a lot of cases the lower bearing is pressed onto the steering stem so you will need a way to remove it and then press a new bearing on. You could use an air chisel to remove the old bearing since you don't care if it gets damaged if you have a new one. Pressing the new one on you'll have to be a bit more careful. The upper bearing should just come out. The races are pressed in for the top and bottom. Usually can get them out with a drift of some sort as long as you keep and eye on what you're doing. You can install the new races with a tool like bearing race driver such as the one from Motion Pro. One trick that can help is putting the new races in the freezer over night and then applying some heat to the neck around where the races go in to make the install a bit easier.

It's one of those jobs that isn't difficult but its easy to mess up.

Old 07-02-2021 | 09:07 PM
Uncle G.
Seasoned HDF Member

Replacing the bearings is pretty straightforward. The hard part is disassembling everything to reach the bearings.