General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Basket case

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2018, 11:31 PM
Racingmasteroid
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Basket case

My friend Paul recently was given a life sentence. He asked me to get his Harley's and sell them to pay legal fees for his appeal. I got a trailer, 2 frames, one rolling, and ten boxes full of parts he collected over his lifetime. There are cases, cylinders, heads and what seems like a million assorted parts. My question is should I try to assemble one bike or should I sell the parts. I have been an auto mechanic 40 years but never worked on a Harley. Any advice would be appreciated.

Old 05-05-2018, 11:51 PM
Flstcjay
Tourer
Received 103 Likes on 62 Posts

How much does he expect to get for some baskets full of parts? Certainly not enough to pay for the appeal of a life conviction. Sell the parts as a unit for what he realistically thinks they are worth. Even a full running bike ain’t going to make much of a dent in life sentence legal fees.

Old 05-06-2018, 12:02 AM
Racingmasteroid
3rd Gear

Maybe so but if nothing else he needs money on his books and all this stuff ain't doing him no good sitting in my living room

The following users liked this post:
tar_snake (05-06-2018)
Old 05-06-2018, 12:17 AM
Racingmasteroid
3rd Gear
Default Answer

He will be calling me in the next day or so and I will ask him how he wants to proceed and what the parts are worth as a whole. From casual observation there seems to be parts for 4 motors and like I said what seems like a million parts. I counted six speedometer/tach assemblies and four different seats. One frame is for a 58 panhead, the other one seems a lot newer and I think it goes with the evo motor.

Last edited by Racingmasteroid; 05-06-2018 at 12:19 AM. Reason: MI's spelled
Old 05-06-2018, 07:36 AM
kickstartfan
Road Master
Received 285 Likes on 191 Posts