General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PCIII/Stage 1 upgrade question

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2007, 08:05 AM
Parrothead
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PCIII/Stage 1 upgrade question

Hey everyone. I'm a newbie that has been learning alot over the last few weeks here on the forum. I ordered a 2008 Road King Classic a couple of weeks ago and now the wait is on! I told them that I think I'm going to want a stage 1 upgrade because it will be covered under the two year warranty if I have it done upfront. My stage 1 would consist of V&H slip ons, a different A/C, and maybe a race tuner remap(?). I am trying to determine if this will help set my bike up to run richer and thus cooler after reading of all the heat issues on the 2007s (assuming it will be the same engine in the 08's). Is the PCIII a competitor to a Stage 1 remap? Should I wait and do the PCIII because it is a better product? Do they work together well and I should do the Stage 1 upgrade and just see how it goes from there before doing the PCIII? I'm trying to figure out the differences/similarities between the two. Thanks for the help on this issue. I'm sorry if this has been covered before. If it has will someone direct me to that thread?

Old 06-21-2007, 12:05 PM
Akitakoi
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: PCIII/Stage 1 upgrade question

Better not plan to much yet, Harley likes to throw out surprises. PCIII's and SERTS might not evenwork on the 08's, not saying I know anything but it's possible.

Old 06-21-2007, 12:12 PM
Finn111
Road Warrior
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Of course, that doesn't mean the stealer won't be more than happy to install them for you anyway!

Old 06-21-2007, 12:16 PM
thrillseeker
Road Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts