General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New rider, bike choice

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2017 | 11:46 PM
LateBloomer67
|
Advanced
Default New rider, bike choice

Hello, all...

Looking for some input. I'm a brand-new rider who finally decided it was time to stop putting off the dream. This weekend I test-rode four bikes: 1200 Custom, Slim, Fat Bob (107), and Heritage Classic (107). After those, I've pretty much eliminated the 1200 Custom and Slim. So, I have two pretty different options remaining. Here's the thing: since I'm brand new at this, I have no history upon which to draw. It's hard to me to truly know how I plan to use my first-ever motorcycle over the next few years. And these bikes seem like they're oriented toward different uses. Hoping to hear some thoughts I haven't already considered.

Old 12-18-2017 | 01:37 AM
6 gun
Seasoned HDF Member

If you have made up in your mind that you are going to have a Harley, and nothing else will do, then you should get the Heritage classic. The Heritage will be the best "do all bike," between the two choices you have given. Welcome to the Forum from the middle part of Texas. Be sure to come back on and tell us what you decided on.

Last edited by 6 gun; 12-18-2017 at 01:39 AM.
Old 12-18-2017 | 01:40 AM
Prot
Club Member
Veteran: Navy
Riders Club Member

Your first bike shouldn't be a twenty thousand dollar eight hundred pound gorilla.

Most people recommend a used mid sized Japanese standard bike to get some experience on and to find out what you like and don't like. Something you can drop or crash without too much of a hit to your wallet.