General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Does this happen????

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2005, 07:52 PM
harleybiker
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Does this happen????

I've read and have heard that after the 1000 mile break-in, the engine sounds different and feels different. Is this so? Thanks.

hb

Old 10-11-2005, 07:57 PM
Coaster
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: Does this happen????

I'm no expert at this but I think the exhaust needs to be broke in and that changes the sound of the bike. Get that all "caked up" in there and you'll get a deeper sound. Not sure about the engine actually sounding different.

Old 10-11-2005, 08:33 PM
screamn_eagle
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

HI STEVE,

ONE THING THAT WILL HAPPEN OVER TIME IS THAT THE SOUND DEADENING MATERIAL USED IN THE EXHAUST WILL BREAK DOWN OR MELT WITH CONTINUED USE. USUALLY ABOUT 5000 MILES OR SO BEFORE YOU CAN NOTICE A DIFFERENCE AS FAR AS THE ENGINE ITSELF I CANT SAY I KNOW ENOUGH TO HEAR A DIFFERENCE OR REALLY FEEL A DIFFERENCE BUT ONE WOULD THINK IT LOOSENS UP.

Old 10-11-2005, 08:34 PM
SPRINGER
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 3,270 Likes on 1,976 Posts

I have been told that there is a breaking in process that takes place when you first start putting some miles on your scoot. I'm not sure how long that it takes, but they say that it happens with all bikes. I guess that it's just like with everything else, it just takes time for everything to wear in and start running smoother.

Old 10-11-2005, 10:00 PM
Wolf
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I noticed no change until the bike got 4500 miles on it, then for some reason, it started running better, as in smoother and a tiny bit more power. That little bell I put on my bike that Mrs. Wolf gave me is apparently magic.....

Howl,

Wolf

Old 10-11-2005, 11:39 PM
buckanddot
Cruiser