General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2017 Road King Special Baffle Ectomy - EASY

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2017, 01:00 PM
Roadrage1996
Tourer
Received 43 Likes on 32 Posts
Default 2017 Road King Special Baffle Ectomy - EASY

Hello All,

Since this forum has helped me many times I decided to take a couple of minutes and share a "Do-It-Yourself" project.

NOTE: I left the catalytic converter in place.

When I picked up my new Road King I loved everything with the exception of feeling like I was ridding a "metric or electric bike". I have been ridding for 30+ years and honestly, the two major things that attracted me to a Harley was the individuality and the sound of a Harley opened up under hard acceleration.

So I knew "MOD #1" was going to be slip on or full exhaust. After shopping around I was getting ready to spend $626 -$1,025 for a better sound. The problem is unless you have someone who has that particular slip-on, your left with hoping they are the sound you were hoping for. So I decided to do a "baffle ectomy" and see what result I would get. It was extremely simple with the right tools and took under 1 hour.

For the record the "left" and "right" side are "EXACTLY" the same. Unlike past models the right side baffle was a bear to move because it was larger than the opening and you had to sawzall slits to compress the baffle to get it out of the pipe. This is not the case with my Road King.

First the tools you will need:
(1) 3" Hole saw/cutter for metal
(2) Pillars, long screw driver
(3)Cutting Oil
(4) High Torque drill 1/2 drive (Variable Speed)
(5) Patience
(6) Gloves - The packing is fiberglass and you will not have a good experience unless you wear gloves.

Start by pulling off your bags.