General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How lucky I am...

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2007, 04:53 PM
anubisss
Banned
Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts
Default How lucky I am...

There was a posting yesterday about someones friends having been beat by someone. This is truly terrible and should never happen, but unfortunately the world is not always the warm fuzzy navel I like to think it is. This got me to thinking about my own life and the traumas I have overcome to be where I am today. This coupled with the OCC FANtasy bike show that I just watched about a gentleman who is paralyzed brought me to tears with gratitude for my own life and the simple abilities I possess.

I too was brutally beaten in the year 2005. I was out searching for art supplies in the early hours of the morning in the back alleys of my home city. I am an artist and am really into creating "outsider art" as it is formally called. This means that most of the art I create is made of recycled materials. Old tabletops make great canvases, as do old doors, shutters, windows, skateboards, cardoors, whetever I can find. I also create on blank canvases as a traditional fine artist does, but the aspect of taking something that has been discarded and turning it into a work of art is sacred to me as we live in such a "disposable" society.