General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Original vs. Aftermarket

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2007 | 10:14 AM
bruef
|
Intermediate
Default Original vs. Aftermarket

Hey all - I'm a newbie here so I hope you all don't mind some newbie-style questions. I'm picking up my first HD today ('04 Heritage Softail) and have a question regarding add-ons & parts. I'm a world-class bargain hunter - a firm believer in the axiom "retail is for suckers". I view ebay as the closest thing to Nirvana on earth. You get the picture.
I'm already looking into some add-ons for my bike - things like an engine guard, passenger floorboards, etc etc. I'm sure I don't need to tell you folks original Harley Davidson goodies of that nature aren't cheap. In doing some initial searching in places like the JCWhitney catalog and ebay I've found that there's all sorts of non-oem versions of this kind of stuff available for considerably less scratch.
I've NEVER been one to buy things just because the brand name is "cooler" than the virtually identical "non-brand" item available at Wal-Mart for 1/3 the ching. On the other hand, if there's one thing I'd ever be hesitant to cut corners on, I'm thinking it would be my new Harley.
I'd like to hear some opinions from everyone on OEM vs. after-market parts and add-ons. Do you think it would be a travesty of justice for me to put $20 luggage rack (that serves it's purposes equally well) on my bike rather than spending $116.00 for one at the dealership? Do cheaper parts detract from the value or "coolness" or whatever of the bike? What do you all think?

Old 05-01-2007 | 10:19 AM
grunt
Extreme HDF Member
Default RE: Original vs. Aftermarket