General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

CA Exhaust Law/CA Residents/Military in CA

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2015, 11:46 AM
Kraken207
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CA Exhaust Law/CA Residents/Military in CA

Good Morning,

I am an resident of the State of Alaska, serving on Active Duty. My bike and cages are all registered, legally, in that State of Alaska. Drivers License is State of Alaska, etc, etc, but I reside, due to military orders, in the State of California.

The law here in CA that I am referring to is this:

CVC 27202.1. (a) Notwithstanding any other law, a person shall not park, use, or operate a motorcycle, registered in the State of California, that does not bear the required applicable federal Environmental Protection Agency exhaust system label....
(d) (1) This section is applicable to a person operating a motorcycle that is manufactured on or after January 1, 2013, or a motorcycle with aftermarket exhaust system equipment that is manufactured on or after January 1, 2013.

My first question is for CA residents. Do you have after market exhaust on your bikes? Do you have exhaust that was manufactured after the above date w/o the mentioned stamp on your bike? Have you had any issues?

Second question for military members in CA. To preempt, I had a bike the last time I was stationed here, a whole 12 months ago, but was completely stock. So, has anyone who is on a bike not registered in CA, but living here, "gotten away" with having after market exhaust that wasn't stamped? I could "claim", in the event of being "caught" that I had the exhaust (Vance and Hines Big Shot Duals) on the bike (a 1996 Road King BTW) since I was in Alaska. Not sure how that would be received by the issuer. I don't want to be the only "loud" bike in the neighborhood or tri-county area.