General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1960 Restore

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2015 | 03:41 PM
'60Panhead
|
6th Gear
Default 1960 Restore

Recently received my dads 1960 DouGlide, he was taken from us by lung cancer..I am

trying to rebuild it in his image.. Im a firefighter in florida, with a family of 4.. Needless to say there's not much wiggle room in our budget.. Trying to raise a bit of money to restore the bike.. I will be turning the wrenchs myself (everything but bench building the motor)

Last edited by IzzoQuazzo; 05-02-2015 at 05:26 PM.
Old 05-02-2015 | 03:53 PM
Tom84FXST
Seasoned HDF Member

Originally Posted by '60Panhead
Recently received my dads 1960 DouGlide,

Little if anything in that pic came from a duo-glide...what are you going to do with it? Do you have the motor? Post a pic if you do.

Old 05-02-2015 | 04:21 PM
'60Panhead
|
6th Gear

I'm going to put it back on the road again... Your correct its built out from a FLH '60 Pan.. Motor was in process of overhaul when my father passed... Need to find a mechanic in my area to bench build the motor (panhead mechanic's few and far between) everything else I will do the work

Old 05-02-2015 | 04:37 PM
TwiZted Biker
Club Member

You have a long road ahead of you for this to be a runner again my friend and it's gonna cost too but that aside sorry about loosing your dad but nice score on the project. Like's been mentioned there's nothing panhead in those pics but the bigger engine parts from what I see.

Old 05-02-2015 | 04:44 PM
'60Panhead
|
6th Gear

Thank you! And oh yeah I know its gonna be a bit.. The upside, everything is there for the motor.. New rods, bearings, pistons, etc (down to the gasket kit) just need a guy who knows pans.. Also have a guy for cleaning and powder coating frame... The odds and ends in between will be my biggest cost

Old 05-02-2015 | 08:29 PM
tagalongtrouble
Tourer