Frame/Suspension/Front End/Brakes Discussions for your ride comfort and braking power.

Need advice on lifting my bike.

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2005 | 10:21 AM
HDRIDER242
|
Advanced
Default Need advice on lifting my bike.

Hello,

I just got my Deluxe less than a month ago and I would like to clean my whitewalls. I'm new at bike mechanics and have never worked on one.

I figure the best way to clean the whitewalls would be to put in on a bike jack lift. I bought one but haven't used it yet and wanted to make sure that everything goes smoothly in lifting the bike and safely bringing it back down.

Do you need to shim the top of the jack where it mates with the bottom of the frame because that cylinder keeps the bottom from being completely flat? Or can I just safely put the jack under the frame and just safely lift the bike without worries from the bottom of the frame or that cylinder from getting damaged? Lastly is there a mark somewhere on the frame where we can put the jack at or maybe a center weight balance mark?

Thanks in advance!

Old 08-25-2005 | 10:28 AM
HDF Tech
Banned
Default RE: Need advice on lifting my bike.

You can lift the bike without shims, the trick is to find a balance point with the bike on the jack. What I found works well, once you find the balance point, use white paint and put a dot on the lift arms of the jack so you know how far to push it in under the bike, then another on the cross brace between the lift arms and this you make in line with a reference point like a seam in the heat shiels so you can hit the mark every time when you use the jack without trial and error. Don't forget to strap it down and use the locks on the jack once you get the bike up.

Old 08-25-2005 | 10:54 AM
HDRIDER242
|
Advanced

Thanks for your advice. You mentioned strapping it down, how is this done? Is that part of properly lifting a bike on a floor jack? Remember I'm new with bike maintenance.

thanks again...anyone else like to add some tips?