Frame/Suspension/Front End/Brakes Discussions for your ride comfort and braking power.

Evolution Wheel Bearings

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2008, 07:50 PM
rlprlp
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Evolution Wheel Bearings

I have a 1995 Fat Boy that I am very happy with at this stage in my life, so I admit that I don't "keep up" with what H-D does these days.

One thing's for sure, though: Doing the routine maintenance on the wheel bearings sure is a pain. At least new bearings are low cost. (I work as a machinist and buy bearings direct from a distributor.) I've never "serviced" a bearing; I just replace them every time. Anyways, to my question:

I understand that the newer bikes have a new type of bearing that needs almost no routine maintenance. If that is true, could these newer bearings be used to upgrade my '95? It might be relevant to note that '95 was the last year of the "old" speedometer. My speedometer cable is driven by the front wheel.

Thank you to all who take the time to reply.

Old 04-10-2008, 07:10 AM
underboss
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Evolution Wheel Bearings

At some point Harley went to a larger diameter axle and I don't know if that was when they went to sealed bearings of if there are a couple of years where sealed bearings are available for your axle. Installing new bearings every time is not advisable since they need to be properly set up with spacers to get the correct play. They are tapered bearings and they don't wear out very quickly. Unless, of course,they are not properly spaced - that will kill them.
Since you've gone to all the trouble to remove the seals to access the bearings its not much more work to just clean them with some kerosene and repack them with grease. But it sounds like you are trying to avoid that whole process. Google FTM sealed bearings if HD does not make them for yours.

Old 04-10-2008, 08:29 AM
KBFXDLI
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts