Frame/Suspension/Front End/Brakes Discussions for your ride comfort and braking power.

Changing handlebars...how difficult is it?

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2005, 12:11 PM
rdking
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing handlebars...how difficult is it?

Hi,

I bought some Wild 1 Chubby WO508's for my new ('05) Road King Classic along with the Harley chrome switch housings and switches. I'm not a mechanic but I can turn wrenches and do some basic maintainence stuff. Is this something a novice should tackle?[&:]

Old 02-20-2005, 01:26 PM
billnourse
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 42 Likes on 35 Posts
Default RE: Changing handlebars...how difficult is it?

RDking,

The handle bars are pretty easy if there is no need to change any cables or brake lines. I would get a shop manual, as it explains how to get to the handle bar clamp. I think switch housings and switchs require some rewiring, which I would be reluctant to do. I think electricity is magic, so I don't mess with it.

Regards,

Bill

Old 02-20-2005, 01:29 PM
pilot1996
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 34 Likes on 6 Posts

RdKing,

I just ordered Wild 1 chubby's for my ride. They are on back order so I'm still waiting[:@]

Anyway, I pulled out my manual, and I'm more than comfortable tackling it, I'm on an EG, so I have a little more to do with the fairing, etc. I think you can handle it, given your personal description, but never hurts to have the manual. It give all the torque settings etc. I'm not sure how the internal wiring part is going to work, but I'm assuming it will be obvious when I see it. I'm sure I'll have to breka the wires and resolder...hopefully there will be some directions that come with the bars. I say go for it.

Mac

Old 02-20-2005, 02:00 PM
ApeKing
Road Warrior
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

Im getting wild1 509s on my FLHRS, but Im having the dealer install them so they'll be under warranty.

Old 02-20-2005, 09:49 PM
Sincecrazy
Road Warrior
Received 12 Likes on 3 Posts