Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.

Could use a little advice RE: baffles/ decel pop

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2014, 07:44 PM
Rick014
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Could use a little advice RE: baffles/ decel pop

Although I've been riding for many years I bought my first Harley (used) this last winter. The bike is a 2012 super glide custom. Among the mods done to the bike are a screaming eagle intake, re map and vance and hines straight shot slip on exhaust. The problem I'm having is a lot of decell pop. I've tried silicone on the joints to seal any air leaks, with no success. I've talked to a mechanic at the dealership that sold me the bike and he suggested a full pack and about 3 hours on the dyno, saying it would make it better and no guarantees. About a thousand bucks after taxes (expensive up here in Canada). To be honest I can't afford that right now. The problem he said is that the straight shot is not a muffler and has only a cheese grader style of baffle. He let me try some stock mufflers which got rid of the decell pop but are way to quiet for my liking. If anybody has some suggestions for an inexpensive muffler that's louder than stock or another solution I would appreciate your input. I was thinking about the slip in baffles V and H makes, but not sure if they would help or I'd just be wasting my money. Another option I was thinking about was the cycle shack slip on mufflers. Can anybody tell me if they are any good or how they compare to the stock mufflers for loudness?
Thanks for your input and advice

Old 06-18-2014, 06:12 AM
spr0k3t
Tourer
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts