Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.

No Baffles

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2005, 01:36 AM
Keystoner883
Stage IV
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No Baffles

I'm new to the Harley world, i just purchesed my 03 883 a few weeks ago. Anyway i was told by the salesman that i should just drill out the baffles on the stock mufflers untill i put the VH's on. I thought this was a pretty shotty idea, but figured i had nothing to lose since the new pipes were going on soon anyway. So i drilled them out, sounded ok and didn't think anything about, went to a rally with no problems. A few days later im sitting at a light, blip the throttle, and it misses big time, like it tried to die. Thought that was strange so i headed back to the house. On the way i noticed that it was running rougher. I figured it would lean out a little with the loss of some back pressure but was just going to wait till the new pipes went on to get it re-jetted. Is it possible that it already caused any sort of damage by the lean condition, and is there anything i can do in the meantime while i'm waiting on the new pipes to prevent this

Old 09-03-2005, 06:01 AM
Keystoner883
Stage IV
Default RE: No Baffles

is there not anybody that has a suggestion or can offer up some advice...

Old 09-03-2005, 08:58 AM
pococj
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,297 Likes on 484 Posts

Sorry nobody has gotten to this until now.

How many miles on the bike when you got it?

When you say you drilled the baffles out, do you mean they are completely gone? If so, and you are basically running a set of completely open pipes, you are running extremely lean. Did you damage something? Hard to say, but since the bike is rather lean to start with (thank you, EPA), you are at least at the edge of doing bad.