Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.

Real Techs/Mechs must see

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2012, 05:19 AM
Texasjohn
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Real Techs/Mechs must see

I just read...scaned all 35 of these pages concerning oil filters and which is the best. Lots of talk about microns and manufacturs and etc. But apparently noone has had failures or issues. So why 35 pages, didnt you see the the poll at the begining. Any way, I have been repairing H-ds for 17 yrs. ( not that im the best mech on the planet, but) I have never seen problems caused by stock H-D filters on your typical "stock" bikes ( even with horsepower up grades). But heres why i searched this thread.

I just took in a 2001 Carbed Dyna w/ stage 1 upgrade and about 8000 miles. 150 miles Prior to recieving it in my shop some one installeda S&S E carb and changed the oil to Mobil ! and.....heres the kicker....put a stock H-D EVO filter on the bike. No other mods were done. Just an oil change and a carb.
So, here is what happened.
Customer brought in bike with lifter and rocker noise and told me about the recent changes. After a oil pressure test that was withing specs for a stock bike and returning oil to tank was verified i moved on. I opened the push rod tubes to check for possible adjustable push rods he didnt know about being loose or out of adjustment. Stock pusrods but no oil on them.
So we got good oil pressure but no oil on push rods and tubes. Next i removed the rocker covers and fired the engine and found very little oil pressure from oil passages on rockers and a hell of a lot of noise. Lifter failure? But all 4?
Removed the pushrods and lifters and spun the motor over and found good flow to lifter cavities and piston jets. (unmeasureable pressure but good volume/flow).
Put a scope down cylinder through spark plug holes and found no apparent scoring or failure.