Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.

Short, curved but quiet pipes?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2011, 08:12 PM
Wabbit
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Short, curved but quiet pipes?

Hello, I am new to the HD world. Actually just preparing to buy my first HD, a Fat Boy Lo. I love the bike, though I'm not too excited about the stock pipes. I really like the look of some short, curved pipes, like the Vance & Hines Big Radius, but 20 years in the Army have my hearing in bad shape and I would prefer a quiet ride. My guess is that any shorter pipes would be louder than the stock ones. Is that true? Is it possible to get something as quiet or quieter than the stock pipes, with the short, curved look?
Thanks for any help!

Old 02-05-2011, 08:15 PM
TORQUEY
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 175 Likes on 127 Posts

Even the Vance and Hines "Quiet Baffles" are very significantly louder than stock.

Old 02-05-2011, 08:17 PM
Wabbit
Tourer

Thanks for the quick reply. I suspected they would be, so I am hoping there might be a product out there with a similar look, but a sound close to the stock pipes.

Old 02-05-2011, 08:22 PM
Blk and Chrome
Elite HDF Member
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Its pretty hard to find a quiet curved pipe like that. There are baffles that close the pipe off some to quiet them down, can't find the link right now but if I do I'll post it for you unless someelse chimes in with it. There are some other type of pipes that do the same. They also cut down the power some too. Maybe score a set of stock pipes from a custom, nightrain and use the stock mufflers as they are lower than what you have. Loud is very easy quiet is not

Old 02-05-2011, 08:38 PM
tidbit1
Road Warrior
Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts