Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

Are my plugs telling me something?

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2010, 11:20 AM
MJHJEA
Road Warrior
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Are my plugs telling me something?

Briefly: changed my exhaust a month ago. Original setup was scream'n eagle full exhaust and high flow air cleaner with stage 1 download. Only change I did was swap to full exhaust Vance and Hines Big Shots staggereds. Bike runs perfect with no decel popping whatsoever. Had a local indy tell me yestreday, after pulling the plugs, that I was shortening the life of my motor. I'm not a mechanic, but both plugs looked very clean and light in color. He said they should be more darkened. He recommended some type of fuel management ( bike is EFI) like fuel pack, power commander, etc. Should I listen to his opinion? I've heard plugs don't lie, but like I said, I'm not a mechanic and don't know what the plugs should look like. Is there another way to check for sure that the fuel mixture is correct? This is my baby and I'm never going to sell her, so I'm concerned now and afraid to ride until I know.

Old 07-08-2010, 12:09 PM
Kingofcubes
Road Master
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Plugs will look clean with FI. Can you take pictures and post so we can see timing and heat? Is there a gray line on the porcelin? What is your gas mileage?

Old 07-08-2010, 02:54 PM
garycoho
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default plugs

A plug with a white yellow tan or rusty brown powdery deposit indicates balanced combustion.
A light brown glassy deposit indicates an overheated plug.This condition may be accompanied by cracks in the insulator or by erosion ot the electrodes and is caused by an air -fuel mixture that is to lean,a hot running engine,valves not seatiing or improper ignition timing.
Good luck with your mechanic!

Old 07-09-2010, 09:23 AM
djl