Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

Not happy with my 2-1

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2010, 02:37 PM
el_diablo
Cruiser
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Not happy with my 2-1

I'm sure this is a dead horse around here but I'm a newb so bear with me. I could give a damn if I gain or lose 1/10th of a hp or torque anywhere in the curve with any exhaust. I don't race this thing. I love the way my exhaust looks but I've never been completely happy with the sound. It's plenty loud, which is fine, but it doesn't have the deep bass sound that I'm after. It has more of a pitched bark.

Suggestions for the bike?

Supertrapp/paul yaffe 2-1 on my bike:

Old 05-15-2010, 05:51 PM
floater33
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

the only explanation i really have is that different exhausts sound different... i changed the 2-1 on my touring bike and put true duals on it because 1. i dont really care about going .2 of a sec faster when accelerating 2. i liked the sound the duals made.

dont get me wrong, some 2-1's sound good, and some TD's sound like hammered ****.
for what it's worth, i had a friend with supertrapp x-pipes on his bike, looked killer, sounded like a derby car missing on 3cylinders.

Old 05-15-2010, 07:59 PM
schmeg
Cruiser
Default 2-1

Pipe has no volume in the megaphone hence the barky tone. If you want a deep tone and you don't care about torque down low, go Rinehart 2-2. If you care about performance and tone, go Roadrage or Fatcat.

Old 05-15-2010, 08:31 PM
ecvjohnny
Tourer

get a thunderheader or rb racing 2n1.

Old 05-15-2010, 08:33 PM
DR. V-TWIN
Former Sponsor
Received 39 Likes on 38 Posts