Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

carb rejet HELP

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2005, 02:35 AM
dynamac
Road Captain
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default carb rejet HELP

Decided to start the stage one add ons myself. I decided to start with rejetting the carb, get the hard part out of the way first. I have never worked on carbs before, figured it can't be to bad with the manual. Everything is disconnected but the one little cheap @#$ screw rounded out. So right now it is hanging by the bracket for the throttle cables by one screw. I have tried everything I can think of including a screw extractor that won't get started due to the lack of room to beat it. I have read some outstanding ideas in thiss forum so I am trying to pick everyones brains. Also, once it comes out which jets am I replacing? the main jet and needle jet or the slow jet and main jet? Should've researched this one a little more. Any and all ideas are needed.

Old 04-30-2005, 10:24 AM
800MXZ
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: carb rejet HELP

As far as getting the screw out, a Dremel with a flex shaft and a cut off wheel will make a nice strait slot in the screw to grab with a flat screw driver, or just cut thru the head and that should leave you enough thread to grab with pliers ahfter the carb is off.

As far as the jetting goes, your going to need to change everything at once. If you jet up now with a stock air filter and stock pipes your going to flood the thing out.

Some people like em, some people don't, but I used a Yost Power Tube on my last carbed bike, and like the results. They can help set up your bike to your area, pipes, altitude, etc.... I even think you can call them, tell them them application, and they will send you the tube and jets together.

Old 04-30-2005, 11:23 AM
billnourse
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 42 Likes on 35 Posts