Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.

1-3/4" or 2" drag pipe?

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2006 | 10:25 PM
raven28690
|
Cruiser
Default 1-3/4" or 2" drag pipe?

Im new to harleys and I just bought my first one which is a 2002 883 custom.

i have been looking at drag pipes and was wandering what the difference in sound was between the 1-3/4" and the 2" pipes?

i have the stock exhaust on it now with screaming eagles and was wanting something louder.

Old 05-16-2006 | 11:01 PM
06dynablack
Road Warrior
Default RE: 1-3/4" or 2" drag pipe?

if you must run drag pipes you will find the smaller diamater works best.i had both sets before and the 2 inch you will lose performance but does have a deeper sound. Also if you have any cams besides the stockers in it your gona have to use some sort of baffle to keep it from falling on its face with 2 inch

Old 05-17-2006 | 12:44 PM
wingt50dw
Road Master

When I had my 1200 sporty, I was told by some of the old white-bearded wrenches that the 1-3/4" drag pipes were the loudest and the 2 inch were deeper. I went with cycle shack 1-3/4 straight cut drags on mine and it was LOUD as $hit, but had a good exhaust note. I got many compliments on those pipes before I sold that scoot last May. The best part, I bought them new for under $150.00!

Old 05-18-2006 | 01:22 PM
Spectrexx
Tourer

ORIGINAL: raven28690

Im new to harleys and I just bought my first one which is a 2002 883 custom.

i have been looking at drag pipes and was wandering what the difference in sound was between the 1-3/4" and the 2" pipes?

i have the stock exhaust on it now with screaming eagles and was wanting something louder.
Since you are new to Harleys, I'll start by trying to keep you from making the same big mistake most new HD owners make.....