Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.

Runs Rough

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2009, 11:04 AM
hucklebuck
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Runs Rough

I am a rookie! ... had many rice burners but First Harley.

My son upgraded to a Road King and passed on his old bike to me. I am now the proud owner of a 93 Heritage Classic Softail.

It runs rough and we assumed it is due to old fuel because it sat for about a year. I put a couple bottles of gumout in it and hoped it would clear up but it's still running rough after 2 tanks of gas.

I don't have a manual yet, but will soon. I'm an old time DIY backyard mechanic and will figure it out, but love these forums because you guys save us guys a lot of time and grief.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 05-31-2009, 06:33 PM
dawg
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 3,244 Likes on 1,851 Posts

Being a 93 and having sat for a year, couldn't hurt to pull the carb and get a carb rebuild kit for it (not expensive at all) and you may want to experiment with a few different jets as well.

Old 05-31-2009, 11:21 PM
hucklebuck
5th Gear

Does the carb simply pull out of the manifold? I do not see any clamps or bolts or anything. In addition to the rebuilt kit it needs a new choke cable.

Thanks for the help.

Old 06-06-2009, 04:29 PM
hucklebuck
5th Gear

I found a pretty good article that said first thing to do before rejetting is to try adjusting the idle air screw. I followed instructions and drilled out/removed the factory plug and have tried adjusting it. There was some improvement but still runs ruff.

After reading some, they say if performance pipes and air cleaner are put on the carb needs tuned or rejetted. But asked my son if it ever ran good after the pipes and air cleaner were changed and he said yes... so based on that it probably doesn't need rejetted... right?