Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.

Engine upgrades?

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2008, 08:21 PM
speedjunkie
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Engine upgrades?

Ok,

So I've been doing some research on engine upgrades for my '07 FXDL. I'm looking at bumping to 103"-107", just because I don't feel like boring the cases right now. I'm also looking for 110/110 to 120/120 range from this build, which from what I have read, is very doable. I want good, reliable, long lasting power from this build. Plus I'm going to attempt to do the parts swap myself. I am an aircraft mechanic, so it's not like I can't turn wrenches.

From what I'm seeing, alot of you like Head Quarters, Hillside, and GMR. I've also checked with Zipper's since I have the tmax with a/t. I figured it would be easy since all the components are theirs. But, I'm finding the price tag a bit steeper than I expected. Especially for a 103". Plus the HP/TQ #'s are on the bottom side of the range I want.

I've already conceded to the fact that I'll be getting the fatcat, but what else do I need? Clutch upgrades? Driveline upgrades? Intake? It doesn't look like everyone uses a larger TB, is it needed? Injectors?

What am I missing? Anything to look for or out for?

Any and all advice and recommendations would be greatly appreciated! Including your preferred vendor. Thanks in advance!

Mike

Last edited by speedjunkie; 09-20-2008 at 12:53 AM.
Old 09-19-2008, 09:59 PM
Dalton
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

You are on the right couse in dealing with a reputable company and going with a "kit build" rather than trying this and that to get what you expect out of the engine. I am partial to Headquarters as their components are top notch and their kits produce reliable results that are repeatable in each and every build. Plus, Doug and Kevin are great to deal with .