Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

Cam question for evo big twin

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2008, 08:28 AM
squidman
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam question for evo big twin

I am about to purchase a bolt-in cam for my 1995 flstn. I was looking at the SE-3 and SE-4 cams, and also noticed many folks are running with the Andrews EV-13 or EV-27 cams. The thing that is steering me away from non-SE cams is the various posts I've read about having to swap out the cam gear to prevent noise and properly shim the new cam. I would expect that an SE cam would bolt-in without any of those requirements. This is my first time doing a cam, so bear with me. I have done my homework, reading the HD shop manual and http://www.nightrider.com/biketech/hdcaminstall00.htm. My thought is simply, I'd prefer something that is truly bolt-in, rather than shimming and swapping, etc. I was hoping some experienced folks could provide some feedback on this.
Thanks in advance
-squidman

Old 03-12-2008, 08:44 AM
mentor70
Road Warrior
Default RE: Cam question for evo big twin

Even the SE cams may require shimming. you will not know for sure until you ck.

the Head-quarters cams may be worth a look too! Ive never owned an EVO, but I have ridden a coulpe of stock ones and they are very low on power for sure!

I bought a V-thunder cam for my dads FL and it helped a lot.

Old 03-12-2008, 09:44 AM
nmfxstc
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

EV-27, hands down!!! Monster oull from idle to 4K, great roll on from 70 mph....best of them all.

Old 03-12-2008, 10:10 AM
DeJavu
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts