Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.

excessive heat fix

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2008, 07:46 PM
elpoman
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default excessive heat fix

HI all this is my first Harley. I'm getting a 08 Ultra, and I have read that they run hot, in that they can heat your legs up. If the newer bikes, do run that much hotter, what is the best fix, with out screwing up the gas mileage? I'm not a mechanic, and plan on having everything down by the dealer, so that it is covered on the warranty.

Old 02-14-2008, 07:50 PM
1atom12
Cruiser
Default RE: excessive heat fix

Mid frame heat deflectors are a popular choice. I stage 1 kit will cool it down as well. The EPA has most of the blame in heating up these motors.

Old 02-14-2008, 07:58 PM
VTwinJaxFL
Road Captain
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

If you want it all done by the dealership then you will need to get the SE Race Fueler, SE slip-ons and a SE filter. Have them set it up to run richer and it will cool down. Also the heat deflectors do help some and you can also add an oil cooler. After spending about grand on it, you will run cooler. You can do this cheaper if you go to aftermarket components, but as you said you don't want any issues with warranty, then just talk to your local dealership service manager and the will usually have you setup in no time and if you don't like it you can bitch at them until you do like it. I have the K&N filter, SE slip-ons and a EFI tuner by Thundermax and it does run fairly cool compared to what it was stock. I sent from almost 300 degree oil temps down to running about 225 average in the summer time now. I barely hit 200 in the cooler months down here in florida.

Old 02-14-2008, 08:38 PM
BaggerSteve
Cruiser