Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

1st 1000 mile service

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2007, 07:13 PM
johnsquicks10
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st 1000 mile service

hello all, just had a question about what the dealer does on the initial 1000 mile service besides changing oil?
i would rather do all my own maintenance so i can better keep up with any issues. does the dealer change the transmission oil? i'm new to bikes but pretty good with a wrench. i've already learned alot on this site.

Old 10-29-2007, 08:26 PM
Wide06
Tourer
Received 43 Likes on 33 Posts
Default RE: 1st 1000 mile service

I only got my 1K service done at the dealer because I got a 1K service gift card with the bike. I don't think they did anything other than change the engine, tranny, and primary oil, though.

My clutch adjustment was a little loose andthe throttle had a lot of free-play. These being about all you can actually tell whether or not they were serviced, it leaves me to believe that the oils arre all that were done, since neither of the other noticeable things were done. I know the oil was changed because they left the mess of oil under the oil filter that happened when they took the old one off. And all 3 drain plugs were suddenly wet with oil and left a drop or 2 in my garage under each one every night.

I say, unless you have a dealer special, do your own service, if you can do it completely. Otherwise, do what you can and have a qualified shop do the rest. But if you have a really good service department at your local dealership, this is a non-issue as far as whether the appropriate things get done.