Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

Popping and hesitation in 06 RK Custom

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2007, 02:02 PM
HDMomma
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Popping and hesitation in 06 RK Custom

Hello everyone! I'm having a problem with my 06 Road King Custom that is driving me crazy. I've taken her to two different HD dealerships for help, but they just tell me nothing's wrong with it and that I'm riding it wrong!! I may be female, but I've been riding for 30+ years and have been around scooters my whole life!! I am now taking it to an independent shop. Heput her on the dyno to see if he could recreate the problem.He was able to and said there definitely is something going on and is trying to figure it out.

So here's whatI've done and what's going on.Like I said, she's an 06 RK Custom with the Stage I breather kit, Samson slip-ons, and I've recently had a Terry Component TVinstalled to see if that would take care of the problem. The TV smoothed her out some, but not enough.I don't have a tach, so I can't tell you at what RPM's any of this is happening. Whatshe'sdoing is popping on decel, which I can somewhat live with, but the thing that's really driving me crazy is she "sneezes" at low RPM's, sometimes completely dieing on me, and between 40-60 MPH she has a hesitation.

My new service guy is going to take thetime this fall when things are slow to take things apart to see if he can maybe find something, but I thought maybe one of you guys out there would have some ideas. I really love this bike and want to keep her, but pulling out into an intersection and having your bike die or almost die on you is a little scary, not to mention embarassing!!!

Old 09-20-2007, 12:31 PM
gbagwell
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Popping and hesitation in 06 RK Custom