Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.

15 months in Iraq, bike's in strorage. What exactly do I need to do?

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2007, 11:24 AM
hawkdriver77
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 15 months in Iraq, bike's in strorage. What exactly do I need to do?

By the time I get home it will have been 15 months since I've seen my '06 Street Glide. When I left I was supposed to be back after six months. So that's what I planned for when I stored it. Ithe appropriate amount of fuel stabilizer in it and filled the tank. I unhooked the fully chargedbattery and my wife put her in storage. She's on her tires and wrapped to keept the dust off of her. I'm a helo pilot and know the very basics about the mechanics of my bike. Very basics. I plan on draining the fuel, making sure the tires are properly inflated and making sure the battery is good to go when I get back. My question is, is this going to be enough? What about engine oil? Should I take it to the HD dealership and let them take a good look at it? Any well educated guesses would be appreciated. Fly Army. DUSTOFF!

Old 08-24-2007, 12:14 PM
Dr.Hess
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 2,917 Likes on 1,430 Posts
Default RE: 15 months in Iraq, bike's in strorage. What exactly do I need to do?

Back when I was a sailor, I would have to leave my stuff for six months at a time. The stuff you suggest should be fine: Charge up the battery, change the oil (preferably all of them), check the tire pressure. Is that a carb or EFI? A carb might have some crud in the bowl, even with the stabilizer. EFI might too, but it might blow out of the injectors. A bottle (or half bottle at a time x 2) of fuel injector cleaner in the tank won't hurt. It would also be a good idea to just drain out whatever is in the gas tank now and start fresh, but you might get by without doing that. I wouldn't worry about anything else.