Exhaust System Topics New and old exhaust system discussions. Fitment issues to sound bites and suggestions. Post them here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Jekill and Hyde

TC88 chain to gear drive

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2007, 10:28 AM
abjones
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TC88 chain to gear drive

I am thinking of removing the chain drive and going to gear drive for cams. Every thing i hear about the twin cam is that it is much improved over the evo except in one area the chain drive.
I am no bike mechanic by any means, but in the past havedone some wrenching on autos. For those of you whohave performed this on your bikes, how complicated a job is it. Are there aftermarket gear drives that will work with out changing the stock cams. Do i go with Crane, S&S, Andrews. Any adviceor techenical info onthis subject would be appreciated.

ABJ

Old 06-01-2007, 10:30 AM
xxxflhrci
Extreme HDF Member
Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts
Default RE: TC88 chain to gear drive

I did my own. It was a very easy job. You cannot use the stock cams, because with a gear drive, thecams turn in opposite directions.

Which cam to use depends on what else you may plan to do to your bike, how heavy your bike is, and what kind of riding you like to do.

Old 06-01-2007, 11:20 AM
Kingofcubes
Road Master
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

The TC engine typically runs 30 degrees hotter than an Evo. I would take a hard look at the 37g cam if I intended to take a lot of heat out of the engine and raise the compression some day. We use the 37's with our stage 2-1/2 with 10.4 to 1 compression, 103-105 torque, 96-98 hp, no pinging, takes 30-50 degrees temp out of the oil.

Old 06-01-2007, 11:44 AM
jmetro
Tourer
Received 6 Likes on 2 Posts