EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Did I break my choke cable?

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2013, 07:35 PM
Raineman
Tourer
Received 35 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Did I break my choke cable?

Some of you may have seen my other thread about my "mid range pop".

Today I went over to where I keep my bike, fired it up, did the carb cleaner spray test to see if I had a leaking intake, and the results were "negative". Rpms did not change at all when I tested.

Time to rebuild the carb, I guess.

First thing I notice is that the original factory clamp is on the fuel supply line. 66K miles on it and I'm guessing this carb has never been off.

Now...I am not a complete mechanical idiot. In fact, I swung wrenches for many years, but in the car world. I can rebuild a Quadrajet almost with my eyes closed. However, I have NEVER worked on a bike before today. I did get the factory manual for my '98 Electra Glide, but as far as removing the carb goes, it was as helpful as ScentLock camo in church when you fart.

So I figure...how hard can this be? I start to pull the carb. Didn't know I had to remove the special hollow bolts that hold the chrome tube between the heads to get the damn thing off. Left some skin from a knuckle on my front jug. Now I'm feelin' like I'm doing something.

Figured out how to get my throttle cables unhooked, that was pretty easy, but I'm sure I did it wrong (removed the whole bracket).

Then... I went to remove what I THOUGHT was a vacuum line. "pop"..."snap"...oh crap!...there is a cable in there. No problem...put the boot back on.

.........after I managed to get the carb off....after I figure out that this was the other end of the choke cable.....I try to work the cable, and I can pull it, but it will not stay in place.

Did I break the damn thing, or does it need to be in its bracket and tightened to work right?

Old 11-24-2013, 08:16 PM
RANGER73
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Army
Received 6,326 Likes on 3,180 Posts