EVO All Evo Model Discussion

base gasket/cam swap with pics

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2013, 11:27 PM
terrapin88
Tourer
Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Default base gasket/cam swap questions with pics

I started pulling apart my top end to replace my base gaskets in my 98 FXD. I am also going to do a cam swap while I'm at it.

This is my first time digging into the motor so I'm taking my time and paying attention to to the manual. It's been pretty smooth sailing for the most part but I did have a stud pull out of the case when I was removing the head bolt. That bolt is on that stud good. I can't get it off. My gut tells me to replace the stud and the bolt even if I do get them apart.

My biggest bitch I have so far is getting at some of the allen head bolts on the left side of the rocker boxes. I had to use small pliers to remove the left side Rocker cover allens. I put some electrical tape on the jaws so they wouldn't mar anything. It worked but it was not ideal. None of my allens would fit under the frame.

What are people using to get those 3/16 allen bolts off the top rocker covers? And what about torquing them back on to spec? Do it by feel?

My front piston has a nice layer of caked carbon on it. The rear piston had caked on carbon but just in the middle of the head. I know that means something, I can't remember what tho. I have a pic below. I'm going to go at combustion chambers and the piston with a brass wire wheel and brush to see if I can clean them up before I put it together.

I think I had an exhaust leak at the head. I have a pic down below.

Thanks for looking-

Attached Thumbnails base gasket/cam swap with pics-20130419_222021.jpg   base gasket/cam swap with pics-20130419_222343.jpg   base gasket/cam swap with pics-20130419_222424.jpg   base gasket/cam swap with pics-20130419_222048.jpg   base gasket/cam swap with pics-20130420_203820.jpg  

Last edited by terrapin88; 04-20-2013 at 08:32 PM.
Old 04-20-2013, 09:26 PM
mostSilly
Advanced