EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Advice on Smoking

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2012, 07:34 PM
run_ride_hide
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on Smoking

I have never used this forum before, but I could certainly use some advice and I’m hoping this will generate some. My issue: My best friend passed and left me a 93 Fatboy that had been down and left outside for a long time. It has a lot of corrosion issues (cosmetic) but also mechanical and I had no idea what was wrong with it. I’m a decent shade tree mechanic, but never worked on motorcycles. First thing I did was buy the repair manual and checked the compression. Front cylinder good (90 psi) and back cylinder bad (0 psi); I decided to do a top-end on it. When I took the rear head off it was apparent that the head gasket was blown. I checked the flatness using the method in the repair manual (it was flat). Tore both front and rear cylinders down, replace rings, put a kit in the carburetor and reassembled (compression good both cylinders). Visually the valves looked good so I didn’t do a valve job. The bike would start a run good when first started, but after a few minutes the front cylinder started to blow smoke and oil out the exhaust. I assumed it was the valve guides, tore it back down and had a complete head job done both cylinders. Put it back together and same deal. Runs good with no smoke for 3-5 minutes when first running, but then smoke and small drops of oil blowing out the front cylinder exhaust. When I first got it it had oil all over the area where the front exhaust blows so I think the problem was there from the start. I believe I clocked the rings properly. I didn’t measure the I.D. of the cylinders, but I have good compression. Any thoughts as to what my issue might be?

Old 10-11-2012, 07:41 PM
run_ride_hide
6th Gear