EVO All Evo Model Discussion

shavings from exhaust valve cyclinder EVO

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2012, 08:35 PM
Pinetop
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default shavings from exhaust valve cyclinder EVO

An experienced mechanic has asked me to find out on my bike(98 dyna low rider) whether the shavings from a loose bolt off the rocker box (7/16 head) which backed off and mangled the valve and sent part of it out the muffler, will pass through the filter; he believes is before the oil pump. I am a newbie so please no cracks!!!!!!! (no pun intended side-saddlers) I just need to know if I need to break the entire engine apart rather than flushing the bottom end and insuring both top ends are clean.

The cost differential is enough to make a difference. Can someone help?

Pinetop

Attached Thumbnails shavings from exhaust valve  cyclinder EVO-damaged-rocker-box-w-bolt.jpg  
Old 09-12-2012, 08:56 PM
lieutenant G
Cruiser

Originally Posted by Pinetop
An experienced mechanic has asked me to find out on my bike(98 dyna low rider) whether the shavings from a loose bolt off the rocker box (7/16 head) which backed off and mangled the valve and sent part of it out the muffler, will pass through the filter; he believes is before the oil pump. I am a newbie so please no cracks!!!!!!! (no pun intended side-saddlers) I just need to know if I need to break the entire engine apart rather than flushing the bottom end and insuring both top ends are clean.

The cost differential is enough to make a difference. Can someone help?

Pinetop

Just to clarify, A bolt holding your rocker box to your head came loose, got eaten by your rocker arm, which caused your bike to bend (?) a valve and now shavings are all in the rocker box?

According to my 1998 Dyna service manual, the oil return does not pass through the filter. It appears to follow a tube cut through the cylinder wall directly down to the case. I'm note an expert, just reading the manual.