EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Pretty sure I want an FXR

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2012, 11:29 PM
KevH
Cruiser
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Pretty sure I want an FXR

I've been kicking around what Harley (1st one) to get for the past six months. I've spent most of my life riding dirt and sport bikes. I've looked at lots of bikes and talked to lots of people and the one recommendation I keep getting over and over again is, "Get an FXR."

So now that I think I want an FXR, which one do I get?

It'll eventually end up with a black Thunderheader and something close to a dirtbike bar (I'm thinking a bar from a Sportster 48...I don't like the T-bars) and forward controls (I'm 6'3"). It will also probably eventually end up painted black.

Should I try to find an old FXRP (they all seem to be high mileage, beatup and still expensive) or look for an FXRS? Which FXR should I look for?

Old 06-05-2012, 06:06 AM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,866 Likes on 2,429 Posts

Kev, the FXR range tending to be divided into two broad groups, the low-slung custom models, with a single front rotor, then the more 'sporty' ones, with higher ride height and twin rotors, for the enthusiast. The FXRP and FXRS are in the second group.

Old 06-05-2012, 07:52 AM
FlamedFXR
Stellar HDF Member
Received 1,654 Likes on 696 Posts

I would go with an FXRS...braking sucks on the low-riders. Stay away from forwards if you want to keep the handling, maybe just go with highway pegs.

Old 06-05-2012, 08:09 AM
Doug S
Road Master
Received 34 Likes on 18 Posts

@ 6'3" myself, I don't see you on any of them unless you want to feel like a pimple sitting on the end of your nose, just felt too small for me. Your knees will be well above the tanks and unless you get some sort of raised bars you will be hunched over.

Everyone is different so I suggest you get a little seat time-(in case you have not)- on one befor you knock youself out looking to buy one.

DS

Old 06-05-2012, 08:36 AM
badcooky
Banned