EVO All Evo Model Discussion

1992 FLHS to FLHTC??

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2011, 03:42 PM
Amckee2
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1992 FLHS to FLHTC??

I am sure this has been beat to death but I looked before I posted.. I am new to harley and just got a 1992 FLHS and I want to put a Fairing on so I can have music and maybe some gauges. I think I have it right that in 1992 you could get a FLHS,FLHTC,FLHT?? I want to get rid of the "bread box" gauge thing. Can I just order a FLHTC fairing and bolt up?

Old 10-30-2011, 04:59 PM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,867 Likes on 2,429 Posts

There are two ways of approaching this, either using 90s secondhand parts, or buying one of the new batwings for recent RKs. I have an old glass-fibre batwing on my FLHS, but also bought and tried to fit a contemporary batwing. I gave up on that because I wasn't prepared to wrestle with the wiring and different instruments, etc!

FLHS instruments are things of great beauty!

Attached Thumbnails 1992 FLHS to FLHTC??-tomtom-final-2_e.jpg  
Old 10-30-2011, 05:25 PM
Amckee2
Intermediate

Thanks for your help. Which year Road king? So i can't buy a 90s FLHT or FLHTC Fairing?

Last edited by Amckee2; 10-30-2011 at 05:26 PM. Reason: .
Old 10-30-2011, 07:30 PM
irydasteelhorse
Cruiser
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

you might be able to find all the parts on ebay, or a bike wrecking yard, but like was said, youll have a lot of wiring ahead of you. the early 90's batwing had the same basic "breadbox" gauge cluster in them, + volts and oil pressure. youd have to go newer to get the more modern looking gauges, and that presents a whole other set of wiring problems. i had an 89 flhs and added the batwing, basically the same as GBROWN did. if you want more, its probly easier by far to just sell it and buy the bike you really want.

Old 10-30-2011, 08:25 PM
Amckee2
Intermediate