EVO All Evo Model Discussion

oil pump issues?

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2011, 09:09 PM
dmh
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil pump issues?

I bought my first harley yesterday, always had bikes, now have my dream bike.. its an 85 flh evo. my oil light came on while i was headed home from work today.. later still trying to hurry home my clutch went out so i had to limp home.. i know it has a wet clutch. idk if all evos do, im new to this but i need to know what yall think is wrong.. do i have an oil pmp? it also started to feel like it was running a little hot, any advice would be much appreciated!

Old 07-01-2011, 11:14 PM
topfuel7
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

OUCH! Please don't tell me you just said you tried to hurry home cause your oil light came on. It does have an oil pump and you should have stopped immediately and checked the oil level. If that looked Ok you then should have looked inside the tank to see if oil was moving. The heat build up from no oil moving will cause the other problems you mentioned. I hope you haven't ruined it.

Old 07-02-2011, 03:00 PM
dmh
6th Gear

i did check the oil level and it was fine, i didnt check for circulation though. im going to check that in a minute

Old 07-03-2011, 09:55 AM
miacycles
Elite HDF Member
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Is it circulating???

Old 07-03-2011, 11:44 AM
Dan89FLSTC
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Navy
Received 9,414 Likes on 5,014 Posts

Did the engine make any clattering noise when the light came on?

You need to give a better description as to the problem with the clutch, telling us the clutch went out doesn`t tell us anything.

FYI-your bike is not an FLH if it has an Evo engine, FLH was a Shovelhead (you will need to know the correct model designation when you are hunting down parts).

Congratulations on the new bike.

Old 07-03-2011, 01:31 PM
dmh
6th Gear