Dim Yellow Lighting on 96 Electra Glide

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2010, 11:06 AM
CandyMaker
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dim Yellow Lighting on 96 Electra Glide

Hi,

I'm looking to improve the lighting on my 96 Electra Glide Classic. Before I ask for help let me give you a little background on me and the bike.
I bought the bike over the summer and it's my first Harley. Except for the oil cooler, everything on the bike is stock. I have very little experience working on vehicles. One of the reasons I bought a semi-older bike was because I wanted to learn how to do some basic maintenance and improvement projects on a motorcycle. I have about 5 years riding experience and feel that improving the lighting on this bike would improve its safety too.
With all that said I think an HID headlight would look sweet and increase performance. I've done some preliminary research by reading reviews on HID set ups both HD and aftermarket and watched some install videos on youtube. Although I have limited wrenching experience I feel like I could install one of these lights. But I have some reservations about the project...

I've read that installing HID lights and other lights for that matter (LED) put added stress on the existing wiring system. Would I be entering that territory if I replaced the headlight? I know I couldnt rewire the lighting system and Im pretty sure that if I have to start adding other pieces of equipment I could get in over my head very fast. After the headlight Im sure I would get the itch to do another light or two...how many can you do before its an issue?

Sorry if these are basic/dumb *** questions. I would just like to try it myself before just taking it to the dealer.

Old 02-02-2010, 12:53 PM
Beemervet
Ultimate HDF Member

Received 435 Likes on 317 Posts