EVO All Evo Model Discussion

96 fuel injection?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2009 | 09:57 AM
mkizer
|
Advanced
Angry 96 fuel injection?

Help me out here, I have a 96 ultra FI and I havent found out to much about this yet, I have seen total fuel systems but is there anyway to re-map the fuel? I was thinking about adding a cam to my motor because it doesnt have that nice sound yet but i am afraid that when I do it will idle to hight to even notice the lope? I have a set of screamin eagle pipes on but iam not convinced they are for me just yet almost too quiet.

I am new to the harley scene but I am loving my bike so far but I thought there would be alot more out there pertaining to these bikes? What was the big change in 97? I notice most seats and accesories go from new bikes to 97 and it leaves us out with the 96 year models.... I guess iam just frustrated thats all!

Old 06-25-2009 | 12:04 PM
Dr.Hess
Seasoned HDF Member

I believe they changed the EFI system then. Different computer. That means that if there's one model that is different, no one will make black boxes for that. That's probably what you are running up against. Really, if you want to do a bunch of changes like cams, heads, etc., the best thing would be to change the computer system. Either a complete system from a later model that you can change it to something like a Microsquirt. The Microsquirt would give you full, total control of the fuel maps with no extra boxes to buy. The later model HD system would need another box and other stuff, but more people would be familiar with tuning it. Depends on how much of a DIY'er you are.

Old 06-25-2009 | 12:24 PM
Curlybill
Road Master

Be sure and check what you have on the bike. The inject systems came out around 96. There where a lot of problems. And a lot were changed out. As far as seat ,etc, for 97 up, MoCo changed the way the seat is hooked up. 97 up has a hinge on the front were the older bikes don't.

Old 06-25-2009 | 01:28 PM
mkizer
|
Advanced