EVO All Evo Model Discussion

Upper end Ticking

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2009, 07:19 PM
bikerdan128
Advanced
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Thumbs down Upper end Ticking

I have an 85 FLHTC. This is my first evo. It has about 40000 miles on it. I just rode it on a 500 mile round trip. On the way home it started to tick/clack at 4000 RPM or about 80 Mph. If I backed it off to 3500 rpm the noise stopped. By the time I got close to home I couldn't get over 3200 rpm without hearing the noise. The bike has the same power it always had and the oil pressure stayed the same. It starts right up. Does this mean I need to have the heads done? Or is there something I can do without tearing it apart? I've always had shovelheads so I am new to the whole evo thing. If that noise was coming out of my shovel I would get the heads done but I don't have the cash for that right now so looking for a cheap fix. any help would be appreciated.

Old 05-25-2009, 07:26 PM
t150vej
HDF Community Team
Received 1,825 Likes on 1,184 Posts

Originally Posted by bikerdan128
I have an 85 FLHTC. This is my first evo. It has about 40000 miles on it. I just rode it on a 500 mile round trip. On the way home it started to tick/clack at 4000 RPM or about 80 Mph. If I backed it off to 3500 rpm the noise stopped. By the time I got close to home I couldn't get over 3200 rpm without hearing the noise. The bike has the same power it always had and the oil pressure stayed the same. It starts right up. Does this mean I need to have the heads done? Or is there something I can do without tearing it apart? I've always had shovelheads so I am new to the whole evo thing. If that noise was coming out of my shovel I would get the heads done but I don't have the cash for that right now so looking for a cheap fix. any help would be appreciated.